ANNUAL MEETING WATERTOWN FIRE DISTRICT COMMISSION

DATE: May 19, 2025 TIME: 7:00 p.m. PLACE: District Office

> 24 DeForest Street Watertown, CT 06795

BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

Present
Present
Present
Present
Absent
Absent
Absent
Present

1. Call meeting to order

Meeting was called to order at 7:01 p.m.

Roll Call

Present were Commissioners Ouellette, Lehner, Yerger, and Soares, and Alternate Commissioner Perugini. Commissioner Martone and Alternate Commissioners Crane and Minicucci were absent.

ALSO PRESENT:

Watertown Fire District Superintendent Michael Tanuis, Watertown Fire District Employees Vincent Tanuis, Heather Edwards, and Alyssa Bradley, Watertown Fire District Treasurer Barbara Zulkeski, Watertown Fire District Auditor David Cappelletti, and members of the public.

2. Election of Meeting Moderator

MOTION: By Mr. Robert Yerger and seconded by Mr. Nicolas Perugini to elect Mr.

James Lehner as Meeting Moderator.

No other nominations were made.

Motion passes unanimously.

3. Election of Meeting Secretary

MOTION: By Mr. Pedro Soares and seconded by Mr. Robert Yerger to elect Ms.

Heather Edwards as Meeting Secretary.

No other nominations were made.

Motion passes unanimously.

4. Reading of Meeting Notice by Moderator, Mr. James Lehner

NOTICE AND WARNING OF THE ANNUAL MEETING WATERTOWN FIRE DISTRICT

To the Watertown Fire District legal voters:

You are hereby **WARNED** and **NOTIFIED** of an Annual Meeting to be held at the **WATERTOWN FIRE DISTRICT OFFICE**, 24 DeForest Street, Watertown, Connecticut on Monday, May 19, 2025 at 7:00 p.m.

- 1. To adopt a budget for the Fiscal year beginning July 1, 2025 and make appropriations.
- 2. To elect two members to the District Commission.
- 3. To elect a Clerk for a one-year term.

Dated at Watertown, Connecticut this 8th day of May, 2025

Watertown Fire District Commission

Steve Ouellette, Chairman James Lehner, Vice Chairman Robert Yerger, Secretary Anthony Martone, Clerk Pedro Soares

Town Times – May 8, 2025 and May 15, 2025

RETURN OF NOTICE

I HEREBY CERTIFY that on May 8, 2025 I left a duplicate of the attached **WARNING** and **NOTICE** of the Annual Meeting of the Watertown Fire District with Anthony Martone, its District Clerk.

I FURTHER CERTIFY that on May 8, 2025 I caused to be posted upon the public sign post of the Watertown Town Hall a written copy of said Annual Meeting **WARNING** and **NOTICE** by the District Commission.

I FURTHER CERTIFY that I caused copy of said WARNING and NOTICE to be published in the Town Times newspaper on May 8, 2025 and May 15, 2025, a newspaper having a substantial circulation within the Watertown Fire District.

I FURTHER CERTIFY that all the above acts were done by at least five days before holding of said meeting on May 19, 2025.

Dated at Watertown, Connecticut this 8th day of May, 2025

Michael C. Tanuis, Superintendent Watertown Fire District

5. Adoption of District Budget for Fiscal Year beginning July 1, 2025, and make appropriations.

Mr. James Lehner asked if there were any questions regarding the proposed Fiscal Year 2025-2026 Budget.

No questions were asked, therefore a vote was taken to approve the Budget.

MOTION: By Mr. Robert Yerger and seconded by Mr. Pedro Soares to pass a

Water Budget of \$2,131,000.00 and Sewer Budget of \$2,008,500.00

for Fiscal Year 2025-2026.

A vote was taken to approve the Water and Sewer Budgets for Fiscal Year 2025-2026.

Motion passes unanimously.

6. Election of District Commissioner (two positions – three year term)

MOTION: By Mr. Steve Ouellette and seconded by Mr. Nicolas Perugini to nominate Mr. James Lehner.

No other nominations were made, therefore nominations were closed.

A vote was taken to elect Mr. James Lehner as Fire District Commissioner.

Motion passes unanimously.

MOTION: By Mr. Steve Ouellette and seconded by Mr. Robert Yerger to nominate

Mr. Pedro Soares.

No other nominations were made, therefore nominations were closed.

A vote was taken to elect Mr. James Lehner as Fire District Commissioner.

Motion passes unanimously.

7. Election of District Clerk for one year term

MOTION: By Mr. Pedro Soares and seconded by Mr. Nicolas Perugini to nominate Mr. Anthony Martone as District Clerk for a one-year term.

No other nominations were made, therefore nominations were closed.

A vote was taken to elect Mr. Anthony Martone as Clerk for a one-year term.

Motion passes unanimously.

8. Adjournment

MOTION: By Mr. Robert Yerger and seconded by Mr. Pedro Soares to adjourn the

Annual Meeting of Monday, May 19, 2025 at 7:07 p.m.

Motion passes unanimously.

Steve Ouellette, Chairman