ANNUAL MEETING

WATERTOWN FIRE DISTRICT DISTRICT COMMISSION

DATE:	May 15, 2017
TIME:	7:00 P.M.
PLACE:	District Office
	24 DeForest Street
	Watertown, CT 06795

BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

Steve Ouellette, Chairman	Present
James Lehner	Present
Anthony Martone	Absent
Robert Yerger	Present
Mark Crane	Absent
Alfonso Bernardi, Alternate	Present
Carl Minicucci, Alternate	Absent
Gordon Knowlton, Alternate	Absent

1. Call meeting to order

Meeting was called to order at 7:04 p.m.

Roll Call

Present were Commissioners Ouellette, Lehner, Yerger and Alternate Commissioner Bernardi. Commissioners Martone, Crane and Alternate Commissioners Knowlton and Minicucci were absent.

Alfonso Bernardi sat in for Anthony Martone.

ALSO PRESENT:

Watertown Fire District Superintendent Michael Tanuis, Watertown Fire District employees Kellie Sheeks and Ashley Monte, Watertown Fire District Auditor David Cappelletti and 16 members of the public.

2. Election of Meeting Moderator

MOTION: By Mr. Alfonso Bernardi and seconded by Mr. Robert Yerger to elect Mr. James Lehner as Meeting Moderator.

No other nominations were made.

Motion passes unanimously.

3. Election of Meeting Secretary

MOTION: By Mr. Steve Ouellette and seconded by Mr. Robert Yerger to elect Ms. Kellie Sheeks as Meeting Secretary.

No other nominations were made.

Motion passes unanimously.

4. Reading of Meeting Notice by Moderator, Mr. James Lehner

NOTICE AND WARNING OF THE ANNUAL MEETING WATERTOWN FIRE DISTRICT

To the Watertown Fire District legal voters:

You are hereby **WARNED** and **NOTIFIED** of an Annual Meeting to be held at the <u>WATERTOWN FIRE DISTRICT OFFICE</u>, 24 DeForest Street, Watertown, Connecticut on Monday, May 15, 2017 at 7:00 P.M.

- 1. To adopt a budget for the Fiscal year beginning July 1, 2017 and making appropriations.
- 2. To elect two members to the District Commission.
- 3. To elect a Clerk for a one year term.

Dated at Watertown, Connecticut this 4th day of May, 2017

Watertown Fire District Commission

Steve Ouellette, Chairman James Lehner, Vice Chairman Robert Yerger, Secretary Anthony Martone, Clerk Mark Crane

Town Times – May 4, 2017 and May 11, 2017

RETURN OF NOTICE

I HEREBY CERTIFY that on May 4, 2017 I left a duplicate of the attached **WARNING** and **NOTICE** on the Annual Meeting of the Watertown Fire District with Anthony Martone, its District Clerk.

I FURTHER CERTIFY that on May 4, 2017 I caused to be posted upon the public sign post of the Watertown Town Hall a written copy of said Annual Meeting **WARNING** and **NOTICE** by the District Commission.

I FURTHER CERTIFY that I caused copy of said **WARNING** and **NOTICE** to be published in the Town Times newspaper on May 4, 2017 and May 11, 2017, a newspaper having a substantial circulation within the Watertown Fire District.

I FURTHER CERTIFY that all the above acts were done by at least five days before holding of said meeting on May 15, 2017.

Dated at Watertown, Connecticut this 4th day of May, 2017

Michael Tanuis, Superintendent Watertown Fire District

5. Adoption of District Budget for Fiscal Year beginning July 1, 2017 and make appropriations

Mr. James Lehner asked if there were any questions regarding the proposed 2017-2018 Water and Sewer Budget.

No questions were asked therefore a vote was taken to approve the Budget.

MOTION: By Mr. Robert Yerger and seconded by Mr. Alfonso Bernardi to pass the Water and Sewer Budget for Fiscal Year 2017-2018.

A vote was taken by the raising of hands to approve the Budget for Fiscal Year 2017-2018.

Motion passes unanimously.

6. Election of District Commissioners (two positions – three year terms)

MOTION: By Mr. Robert Yerger and seconded by Ms. Barbara Zulkeski to nominate Mr. Steve Ouellette.

No other nominations were made, therefore nominations were closed.

A vote was taken by the raising of hands to elect Mr. Steve Ouellette as Fire District Commissioner.

Motion passes unanimously.

MOTION: By Mr. Steve Ouellette and seconded by Ms. Barbara Zulkeski to nominate Mr. Robert Yerger.

No other nominations were made, therefore nominations were closed.

A vote was taken by the raising of hands to elect Mr. Robert Yerger as Fire District Commissioner.

Motion passes unanimously.

7. Election of District Clerk (one year term)

MOTION: By Mr. Steve Ouellette and seconded by Mr. Robert Yerger to nominate Mr. Anthony Martone as District Clerk for a one year term.

No other nominations were made, therefore nominations were closed.

A vote was taken by the raising of hands to elect Mr. Anthony Martone as Clerk for a one year term.

Motion passes unanimously.

8. Adjournment

MOTION: By Ms. Barbara Zulkeski and seconded by Mr. Steve Ouellette to adjourn the Annual Meeting of Monday, May 15, 2017 at 7:09 p.m.

Motion passes unanimously.

Steve Ouellette, Chairman